Today is the day I would put a big red circle in the calendar to mark how it has special meaning to me because my mom and dad are going to be here in Macau by today. My big sister also coming from Taipei, where she is currently studying for her master degree and my lil sister will come here from our hometown very soon as well. Sounds to mainstream right? But not for me.

This kind of full-family-member reunion will be the first time after more than a decade since the last time we had a holiday together, 5 of us. That’s why I feel this is a very special moment, especially when my dad finally agreed to go out from our home country after “begging” him for years and all we got was just a straight-forward rejection. I’m more than glad to hear that he changed his mind, which I thought it was because he is missing his 2 girls too much as we are living apart to each other at this moment.

I’ve just realized how I long for a quality time with all my family members together after being separated from them time to time. Well, we always keep the stories update to be shared to each other, but the only thing has missed was the presence.

For me, a silent lunch or watching movie together are still better than talking much via skype or tons of chatting over whatsapp. Presence does matter a lot.

We had 2 “family projects” to be done every 1 and 5 years. The first one is we’re gonna take photo of 3 daughters (me and my 2 sisters) with the same formation in any place we could possibly gather every year, and the other one is taking picture of all 5 of us at home holding the same cups every 5 years. The second one is probably harder to be done since we want it to be at the exact same location at our living room, but hey where is the fun if there’s no dare at all?

Doing the plan seems not as easy as we decided to start a year ago, but we want to challenge ourselves on how we could maintain our promise as well our kinship, no matter how far we live to each other.

now and then

The strength of a family, like the strength of an army, is in its loyalty to each other. ~Mario Puzo, The Family.

Leave a comment